top of page



In 2003, Dom Mariani formed Dom Mariani & the Majestic Kelp, an instrumental group that included former Go-Starts drummer Robbie Scorer, guitarist Killian Albrecht, and bassist Stu Loasby. Described as offering a blend of "cool surf guitar/postmodern lounge instrumental" sounds, the band released their debut album, "Underwater Casino," in July 2003. 

The Majestic Kelp's second album, "Music to Chase Cars By," was recorded in Perth, mixed in San Diego, and released in 2006, with the addition of two new members, Toby Gosfield on keyboards and Billy Rogers on saxophone.

In August 2013, The Majestic Kelp released their third album, "Turn Up the Sun," receiving positive reviews and leading to a vinyl release in April 2014 through Head Records.

bottom of page